The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society recently announced this year's inductees into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame, and two Lawtonians - Dr. Bill W. Burgess, Jr. and Dr. Don C. Davis - are among the class of 2012.

Burgess was appointed to the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education in 1993. He was reappointed in 2002 for another nine-year term. Dr. Burgess was one of the youngest state regents to be appointed in the state's history.

Davis was a member of the Oklahoma House of Representatives from 1970 to 1980, and was president of Cameron University from 1980 to 2002. He was then named president emeritus before officially retiring in 2003. Dr. Davis was appointed as an Oklahoma State Regent by Gov. Brad Henry in 2010 to complete a term ending in May 2011.

The formal induction ceremony and banquet will be held on October 9 at 6:30 p.m. at the Jim Thorpe Museum in Oklahoma City.  For a complete list of this year's inductees, click here.