October 14, 1985

At the Country Music Association Awards, bluegrass legends Lester Flatt & Earl Scruggs were elected to the Country Music Hall of Fame at Nashville's Grand Ole Opry House, while Ricky Skaggs was named Entertainer of the Year and The Ricky Skaggs Band was named Instrumental Group of the Year. George Strait was the male Vocalist and Reba McEntire the Female Vocalist of the Year. The Judds were the Vocal Group of the Year while Dave Loggins and Anne Murray received the Vocal Duo and Chet Atkins the Instrumentalist of the Year.

Lee Greenwood’s “God Bless The USA” was named Song of the Year. The Judds claimed Single of the Year for "Why Not Me", Sawyer Brown the Horizon Award and the Video of the Year went to Hank Williams, Jr. for “All My Rowdy Friends Are Coming Over Tonight.”


More From KLAW-FM