October 16, 1972

Loretta Lynn becomes the first woman to win the Country Music Association's Entertainer of the Year in the sixth annual awards at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium. She also takes Female Vocalist and shares Vocal Duo with Conway Twitty.

Charley Pride is named Male Vocalist of the Year, Danny Davis & The Nashville Brass, Instrumental Group and Charlie McCoy Instrumentalist of the Year. The Statler Brothers take the Vocal Group of the Year award while Song of the Year goes to Freddie Hart for “Easy Loving” and the Single of the Year goes to Donna Fargo for “Happiest Girl In The Whole U.S.A.

Earlier in the evening, Jimmy Davis was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame.

More From KLAW-FM