The Mavericks are breaking new ground with their forthcoming album Brand New Day. The record, due out March 31, will be their first independent release on their new label Mono Mundo Recordings/Thirty Tigers.

Brand New Day will feature 10 tracks that blend the band's genre-bending musical style. It includes the Tejano/bluegrass-inspired “Rolling Along,” ‘60s-flavored “Easy As It Seems” and the accordion-fueled shuffle of “I Will Be Yours,” according to a press release. Additionally, frontman Raul Malo says the album also embodies a political message in the form of its title track.

"Brand New Day expresses how we feel about the journey we're on," he tells Rolling Stone Country of the '60s throwback soul song, "as a band, as a family, as a nation, as a world. Now more than ever, we're going to need to be more compassionate, more understanding, more loving than ever before."

In addition to being the lead singer, Malo also assists as co-producer alongside Niko Bolas. The album was recorded at Capitol Studios in Hollywood and in Nashville. It is the Mavericks' first independent release, following a departure from Big Machine's Valory Music Co. last year.

The current lineup of the band includes Malo, drummer Paul Deakin, guitarist Eddie Perez and keys player Jerry Dale McFadden. Founding member and bassist Robert Reynolds was fired in late 2014 due to his addiction to opiates.

“This is the worst thing I’ve ever seen as far as addiction,” Malo told Rolling Stone. “He’s far gone.”

New Music Releases 2017 

More From KLAW-FM