Congratulations to Oklahoma State coach Mike Gundy, he has been named the winner of the 2011 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award. This award is selected by the 1,200-member strong Football Writers Association of America and has been held by some the football's greatest coaches.

This award has been won in the past by some of the best to ever coach the game of football like Urban Meyer, Nick Saban, Bob Stoops, Lou Holtz, Bo Schembechler and Woody Hayes. Coach Gundy, a finalist for the award a year ago, is the first Oklahoma State coach to win the FWAA's coach of the year award and was selected in an association-wide vote from five finalists, including Michigan's Brady Hoke, LSU's Les Miles, Kansas State's Bill Snyder and Clemson's Dabo Swinney. Gundy is the third coach from the Big 12 Conference to win the award in the last 12 years.

The official presentation of the Eddie Robinson bust to Gundy will be Jan. 8, 2012, at 5:30 p.m. and will be broadcast on ESPN and hosted by Mark May . Eddie Robinson Jr., officials from the Fiesta Bowl, the FWAA and the Eddie Robinson Museum will be in attendance.

Coach Gundy led the Cowboys to their first outright conference title since 1948, when the school was a member of the Missouri Valley Conference. The Cowboys (11-1) won their first 10 games before they suffered an upset loss in overtime at Iowa State. But they rebounded with a decisive 44-10 season-ending victory over arch-rival Oklahoma to win the undisputed Big 12 title and earn the school's first berth in a BCS bowl game where they will play in the Fiesta Bowl against the Standford Cardinals on January 2nd at 7:30 PM in Glendale, AZ.

You can here all the action of the 2012 Fiesta Bowl with a 5:30pm pre-game and a 7:30 kickoff on our sister station My 107.3 FM your home for Oklahoma State sports in Southwest Oklahoma.

More From KLAW-FM