Rhett Akins received a fine honor on Friday night (April 13), when he was awarded the title of 2018 ACM Awards Songwriter of the Year. This marks the first time Akins has won this award, which was given to him at the Academy of Country Music's Stories, Songs & Stars event in Las Vegas.

Akins was up against nominees Ashley Gorley, Hillary Lindsey, Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne for the title. After being presented with the award by the 2017 ACM Songwriter of the Year, Lori McKenna, he noted, "Is there any way we could get four more awards up here?"

Akins enjoyed a string of hits as a country singer in the 1990s that included a No. 3 hit in 1995 with “That Ain’t My Truck,” as well as a No. 1 hit, “Don’t Get Me Started,” in 1996. He additionally has written many songs for other artists, including Jason Aldean, Lee Brice, Dustin Lynch, and his own son—country hotshot Thomas Rhett.

The event was one of several leading up to the 2018 ACM Awards, which will air live on CBS beginning at 8PM ET on April 15. The ceremony will take place at the MGM Grand Garden Arena. The show will be hosted by Reba McEntire.

Remember: The best way to watch the ACM Awards is on TV, with ToC on your phone.

Photos from ACM Awards Rehearsals

More From KLAW-FM