November 11, 2009

Taylor Swift won Entertainer of the Year at the 43rd Annual Country Music Association Awards. At age 19, Taylor became the youngest artist to win the award. She was the first female solo country artist to win since Shania Twain over a decade before. Taylor joined an elite group of female artists to win the CMA Entertainer of the Year that includes Loretta Lynn, Dolly Parton, Reba McEntire and Twain. The Dixie Chicks also won the award in 2001, the only all female group to do so. Swift won a total of four times on the night, also taking the trophies for Female Vocalist; Album (for Fearless) and for Music Video of the Year, for "Love Story."

Brad Paisley would take the podium to accept the Male Vocalist of the Year award, while Darius Rucker would accept the New Artist of the Year award. The Vocal Group of the Year would go to Lady Antebellum, while Sugarland would take Vocal Duo. Single of the Year would also go to Lady A for “I Run To You”, while Jamey Johnson would take his second consecutive Song of the Year award for “In Color”. Paisley would split the Vocal Event of the Year with Keith Urban for “Start A Band” and Mac MacAnally would continue his annual sojurn to the podium for the Musician of the Year award.

  • loading...


  • loading...


    Crystal Gayle performs at the dedication of the Vietnam Women's Memorial in Washington, D.C.

  • loading...


    Reba McEntire signs her first recording contract, with Mercury Records

  • loading...

    #1 On This Date


    2006 – Carrie Underwood – “Before He Cheats

    2000 – John Michael Montgomery – “The Little Girl

    1995 – George Strait – “Check Yes Or No

    1989 – Kathy Mattea – “Burnin’ Old Memories

    1978 – Barbara Mandrell – “Sleeping Single In A Double Bed

    1972 – Tammy Wynette – “My Man

    1967 – David Houston – “You Mean The World To Me

    1957 – The Everly Bros. – “Wake Up, Little Susie

    1950 – Hank Snow – “I’m Movin’ On

    1944 – Red Foley – “Smoke On The Water



    2006 – Alabama – Songs Of Inspiration

    2000 – Faith Hill – Breathe

    1995 – Alan Jackson – The Greatest Hits Collection

    1989 – Randy Travis – No Holdin’ Back

    1978 – Waylon Jennings – I’ve Always Been Crazy

    1972 – Charley Pride – A Sunshiny Day

    1967 – Eddy Arnold – Turn The World Around

  • loading...


More From KLAW-FM