CMA Awards
Photo by Kris Connor/Getty Images

November 6, 2006

George Strait, Sonny James and session guitarist Harold Bradley are officially inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame prior to the 40th annual Country Music Association awards at Nashville's Gaylord Entertainment Center. During the awards ceremony, Kenny Chesney was name Entertainer of the year, Keith Urban the Male Vocalist and Carrie Underwood the Female Artist of the Year; Underwood also wins the Horizon Award.

Brooks & Dunn won the Vocal Group, Single and Video of the Year, while Ronnie Dunn & Craig Wiseman won the Song of the Year Award for “I Believe.Brad Paisley and Dolly Parton won the Musical Event of the Year category for “When I Get Where I’m Going”, while Paisley also won the Album of the Year award for Time Well Wasted. Musician of the Year went to Randy Scruggs.

  • loading...


    Florida-Georgia Line wins twice during the 47th annual Country Music Association awards, taking Vocal Duo and Single of the Year, for "Cruise," at Nashville's Bridgestone Arena. Other winners on the night were George Strait for Entertainer of the Year, Blake Shelton won twice on the night, for Male Vocalist and Album of the Year (Based On A True Story) and Miranda Lambert for Female Vocalist of the Year.

    Little Big Town won the Vocal Group of the Year award while Kacey Musgraves won for New Artist of the Year. Lee Brice won Song of the Year for “I Drive Your Truck.” “Highway Don’t Care” featuring Tim McGraw, Taylor Swift and Keith Urban was a double award winner for Musical Event and Video of the Year. And Mac MacAnally took home his annual Musician of the Year Award.

  • loading...


    Alan Jackson wins a record-tying five times in the 36th Country Music Association awards on CBS: Entertainer and Male Vocalist of the Year; Album, for "Drive"; and Single and Song, for "Where Were You (When The World Stopped Turning)”. This is something accomplished by only three other artists: Johnny Cash (1969), Vince Gill (1993) and George Strait (1996).

    Martina McBride was named the Female Vocalist of the Year, while Rascal Flatts were the Horizon Award winners and the Dixie Chicks were name Vocal Group of the Year and Brooks & Dunn the Vocal Duo of the Year. Video of the Year went to Brad Paisley for “I’m Gonna Miss Her (The Fishin’ Song).” Jerry Douglas was named Musician of the Year.

    Porter Wagoner and Jumpin’ Bill Carlisle were inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame.

  • loading...


    Tex Ritter was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame.

  • loading...


    Little Jimmy Dickens joined the Grand Ole Opry.

  • loading...

    #1 On This Date


    2010 – Darius Rucker – “Come Back Song

    2004 – Phil Vassar – “In A Real Love

    1999 – Martina McBride – “I Love You

    1993 – Reba McEntire w/Linda Davis – “Does He Love You

    1982 – Charley Pride – “You’re So Good When You’re Bad

    1976 – Merle Haggard – “Cherokee Maiden

    1971 – Sonny James – “Here Comes Honey Again

    1965 – Johnnie Wright – “Hello Vietnam

    1961 – Leroy Van Dyke – “Walk On By

    1954 – Webb Pierce – “More And More

    1948 – Eddy Arnold – “Just A Little Lovin’ (Will Go A Long Way)

    1955 – Webb Pierce – “Love, Love, Love

    1949 – Margaret Whiting & Jimmy Wakely – “Slipping Around



    2010 – Sugarland – The Incredible Machine

    2004 – George Strait – 50 Number Ones

    1999 – Dixie Chicks – Fly

    1993 – Common Thread: Songs Of The Eagles

    1982 – Willie Nelson – Always On My Mind

    1976 – Tanya Tucker – Here’s Some Love

    1971 – Freddie Hart – Easy Loving

    1965 – Eddy Arnold – My World

  • loading...


More From KLAW-FM