The college softball season ended last night with the University of Oklahoma winning the national championship in Oklahoma City. 

This was the 8th trip to the WCWS for the Sooner women since 2000. That year they won the title. The team went on to play the next four years in the tournament which saw that streak come to an end in 2004. After a few years of hit and miss they returned in 2011 but was knocked out. And most recently last year getting defeated by another SEC team from Alabama 2 - 1.

The Sooners who had been a dominating force all year wrapped up the season at 57 - 4 with many honors going to the team including the national player of the year, Keilani Ricketts who went 35 - 1 on the year. After the brutal 12 inning - and almost 4 hour game on Monday night, Ricketts was given a rest in game 2. Her counterpart, Michelle Gascoigne (19 - 3) struck out 12 and walked no one in the 4 - 0 win.

Congratulations to the Sooner women and the Sooner Nation who will relish this moment. And looking ahead, there are still many on the team who have two or more years remaining. Could we see a possible repeat trip and another softball crown delivered to OU?

More From KLAW-FM